- What is the Afternic DLS Premium and the SedoMLS Premium checkbox on the advanced search page?
When you search for a domain using our advanced domain search, you can opt to also search for premium domains from Afternic and Sedo, our domain aftermarket partners, by checking off the "Afternic DLS Premium" and/or the "SedoMLS Premium" check boxes. You can also opt to not pull in aftermarket premium domains by unchecking the boxes.
- I registered the wrong domain. What can I do?
With most domain extensions, we can grace delete the domain and issue you an account credit within 5 days of registration. Please submit a grace period deletion request in your account as soon as you realize the mistake. NOTE: Some domains have a grace deletion fee. Not all domains can be deleted for credit. Check out our grace deletion chart to see which of our domain extensions can be grace deleted. Any that cannot be grace deleted are listed as "none" under the grace period column.
- How do I restore my domain in redemption period?
If the grace renewal period of your domain has already passed, you may still be able to restore the domain. Unfortunately, this is not guaranteed and will cost more because the domain has already been deleted. To restore your domain, please follow these steps: Sign in to your Dynadot account. Select "My Domains" from the left-side menu bar and click on "Inactive Domains" from the drop-down. Check the box next to the domain name(s) you wish to restore and click on the "Bulk Auction" button. If the domain name(s) do not have a checkbox next to them, they cannot be restored. Click on the "Restore" button. The domains(s) will be added to your shopping cart at the top right-side of the page. Click on your shopping cart to access the item(s) in your cart. Press the "Checkout" buttons to submit your restore order. NOTE: A restore order will not include domain privacy even if you had privacy on that domain before it went into its redemption period. Privacy can be added after the domain is re-added to your account. In most cases, a restore can be done within 30 days (the typical redemption period of most domain extensions) after the renewal grace period (typically 40 days) has ended. However, sometimes a domain is purchased in our expired auctions and as a result, it cannot be restored. Find out more about the domain lifecycle.
- How do I mark my domain for deletion?
If you don't want to keep your domain name, you can mark it for deletion. This is different from a grace period deletion and you will not receive any account credit if you choose to delete your domain this way. To mark your domain for deletion before the expiration date, please follow these steps: Sign in to your Dynadot account. Select "My Domains" from the left-side menu bar and click "Manage Domains" in the drop-down. In the "Domain Name" column, click on your domain name (which should be a link). Scroll down to the bottom of the page and find the "Delete" section. Press the "Delete" button to delete your domain (a pop-up will appear for confirmation). If the "Delete" button is not present, you may need to unlock your domain first. If your domain is set to auto-renew, please disable those settings. The domain will be deleted 30 days after your request, so if you change your mind, you will need to cancel your deletion request before then. If your domain is close to expiration, you can also choose to set your domain to "do not renew" and let it naturally expire. NOTE: .EU, .BE, .UK, and .AT domains cannot be marked for deletion. For .AT domains, only a signed document from the .AT registrant can cancel the registration.
- What does it mean when a domain is set to "Do Not Renew"?
Don't want to keep your domain? You have the option to set it to "Do Not Renew." When a domain is set to "Do Not Renew," it will no longer appear in your "Expiring Domains" section on the "Account Summary" page. Furthermore, you will no longer receive expiration email notifications for these domains.
- How do I cancel my domain deletion request?
If you have marked your domain for deletion, you have 30 days to cancel that request before the domain is deleted. To cancel your domain deletion request, please follow these steps: Sign in to your Dynadot account. Select "My Domains" from the left-side menu bar and click "Manage Domains" in the drop-down. In the "Domain Name" column, click on your domain name (which should be a link). Scroll down to the bottom of the page and find the "Delete" section. Press the "Cancel Deletion" button to cancel your deletion request. NOTE: This help article does NOT refer to a Grace Period Deletion request. If you need to cancel a grace period deletion request, you will need to contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
- How many domains will be processed each day using the Data Analyzer tool?
There is no limit to the number of domains you can submit to our Data Analyzer tool. The number of domains that you will receive results for each day depends on your pricing level and your total spending amount: Regular - at least 10 results per day Bulk - at least 100 results per day Super Bulk - at least 1000 results per day Anything above that would depend on your total spending amount. Basically, the more you spend with us, the more domains you will receive results for per day.
- What is this $10 late-renewal fee?
Most top-level domains (TLDs) have a grace renewal period. This period is typically up to 40 days and it allows the registrant the chance to renew their domain even after it has expired. During the last 10 days of this renewal grace period, Dynadot charges a $10 late renewal fee. For example, if you own a .COM domain that expired on January 1, 2017, you would have been able to renew your domain at the regular renewal price until January 30, 2017. After this date and until the domain was deleted on February 9, 2017, you would have been charged a $10 late renewal fee, so your total renewal cost would be $20.99 ($10 fee + $10.99 regular renewal price). Following the TLD's grace renewal period, your domain is deleted and put in redemption. During this period, you may still be able to restore your domain, but at a much higher price.
- Is there a drawback to using stealth forwarding?
Yes, there is a drawback when you use stealth forwarding. With stealth forwarding, visitors to your website will not be able to see your site's sub-directory structure. They will also not be able to bookmark specific pages on your website when you use stealth forwarding. This is because stealth forwarding uses frames and only serves to forward a visitor to the web page you have specified in the stealth forwarding option. Once your visitor has reached your website, the URL in the address bar will not change no matter which page he/she navigates to until he/she reaches a web page which breaks out of the frames. Once a visitor breaks out of the frames, the website's real URL address will be visible in the web browser's URL bar. For example, say you have a page http://name.somedomain.com/folder/somepage.html and when you use stealth forwarding, you want http://www.myexample.org/folder/somepage.html to show up instead of http://name.somedomain.com/folder/somepage.html. This will not work with stealth forwarding since your domain name can only hide the URL of your website and will always show up as http://www.myexample.org/. If you want to be able to see your sub-directory structure, then you must create a website on myexample.org. You can do this through Dynadot's free website builder or with a web hosting plan, so your files are all hosted on myexample.org instead of at name.somedomain.com. You can also choose to use our regular domain forwarding. Find out how to set up stealth forwarding. Find out how to set up domain forwarding.
- I have my email forwarded to my Comcast, Gmail, or Yahoo account. Why are my messages not coming through?
If you are using our email forwarding service (free with domain registration), all emails that arrive in your inbox are sent over a common server, even those sent from outside sources. When you mark unwanted emails as "spam," email providers such as Yahoo, Gmail, and Comcast may end up blocking the forwarding server, believing it to be a spam source. Even though these messages are coming from 3rd party sources, the result is that you will end up blocking your own messages. While it does seem counter-intuitive, we recommend not flagging forwarded messages as spam, or using another email provider altogether. NOTE: This applies to email forwarding only. Email addresses provided with your web hosting account (Email or VPS) or your website builder business plan are not affected.