Dynadot Help
Need support for your Dynadot domains, websites, or one of our tools? Use our help article directory to find the resources you need or contact our support team to get further assistance.

What is a ccTLD?

A ccTLD is a country code top-level domain extension that is assigned to a country in the world. Each country has their own domain extension based on the ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 country codes. This means that all ccTLDs are only two characters, and all two character TLDs are ccTLDs. The first ccTLDs delegated were .US for the United States, .UK for the United Kingdom, and .IT for Italy in 1985.

Although some ccTLDs are restricted to use only by citizens of said country (an example would be Canada's .CA), many have open registration policies. Some ccTLDs have even branded themselves for alternative usage. An example would be Tuvalu's .TV domain, which is branded for online video use. Because some ccTLDs are more often used in a general way, Google and other search engines see them as "gccTLDs" instead.

Some ccTLDs also do not allow direct registrations. Instead you can only register a domain on the second-level of the ccTLD, known as ccSLD or country code second level domain. In addition, some ccTLDs offer both direct registrations and ccSLDs for registration. An example of a ccSLD would be .CO.UK and .CO.IN (both of these ccTLDs also allow direct registrations on .UK and .IN).

Please note that there are a few exceptions to the rule that all ccTLDs are based on ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 country codes. One such exception is .UK as "GB" is the UK's ISO country code.

See our list of ccTLDs

What is a gTLD?
What is a geoTLD?

Share and Get $5
Learn about our easy-to-use referral program that provides nothing but value.

Still Require Assistance?

Check out our resources
Are you sure you want to close the chat?Chat will be closed and the chat history will be cleared.
To review this chat session please click this windows.
Chat Online
Chat Online0