DYNADOT HELP

Why am I getting this Contact Record Whois Verification email and what is it?


The Contact Record Whois Verification email, along with the similar Account Info Whois Verification email, are part of a new ICANN (the Internet Corporation of Names and Numbers) requirement. The requirement came into effect when we signed the ICANN 2013 Registrar Accreditation Agreement (RAA). Basically, you are required to verify any Whois contact information that is attached to a generic top-level domain (gTLD), such as .COM.

This email is sent out when you:

When you edit a contact record, you will be able to see if a Contact Record Whois Verification email was sent out after you hit "Save Contact." If an email was sent out, it will say so under the "gTLD Verification" section. This is also where you can choose to resend the verification email.

You can see whether or not your Whois contact records are verified by visiting the "Contact Records" page from the "Domains" drop down in your Dynadot account. Here you will see a list of your contact records. If you look in the far right column, "gTLD Verified," you will see "Yes" if the contact record is verified, "No" if it is not verified and does not need to be (this could be true because the contact record is either unused by any TLDs or is being used by a non-gTLD), or "Verifying," which means the Contact Record Whois Verification email has been sent to you and you need to complete the verification. See an example below (click on it to enlarge):

Domain Whois Contact Records in Dynadot Account

You can also see if you have any Whois verifications in the notifications section of your Dynadot account. In this section, you can also see if you need to verify your account information via our Account Info Whois Verification email (the second row on the example below).

gTLD Whois Verification in Dynadot Account Notifications

If you fail to verify your Whois contact record within 15 days of receiving the Contact Record Whois Verification email, you will be unable to manage them. This means you will not be able to renew or change your domain settings until the contact is verified.


REFER-A-FRIEND