Are you sure you want to close the chat?Chat will be closed and the chat history will be cleared.
continue to sign out,
or stay on chat.
To review this chat session please click this windows.
Chat Online
Chat Online0
Support

Forum

A place for Dynadot and community experts alike to ask questions, share ideas, and more.
Confusion with DNS records
5/19/2021 12:51
I have little to no experience with DNS records. Whenever a service requests that I add a DNS record to my domain, Dynadot never seems to have the input fields I need. Since updating DNS records can take a long time, I can't exactly brute force troubleshoot through my problems unless I want to be trying for weeks. I'm having 2 DNS record problems right now:

1) Authenticating my domain on the Tutanota email service so I can use a custom domain for my email. To authenticate that I own my domain, I have been told to add a DNS record of Type=TXT, Host/Name=@, and Value/Points-to=[string]. However, Dynadot only appears to have "Record Type" and "IP Address or Target Value" fields. I'm not entirely sure how I'm supposed to input the 3 required fields I was given into the 2 available fields. From my research I may have to use the Subdomain Records section as well but I'm not exactly sure how.

2) Authenticating my domain on SendGrid so I can use my domain instead of the default "sendgrid.net" extension. SendGrid requires me to add several DNS records of TYPE=CNAME, HOST=[string], VALUE=[string]. However, the problem is still the same as I don't know how to populate these 3 fields of information into the provided "Record Type" and "IP Address or Target Value" fields.