Dynadot Help

Need support for your Dynadot domains, websites, or one of our tools? Use our help article directory to find the resources you need or contact our support team to get further assistance.

Why do I have to enter a "Registrant Type" when registering a .US domain?


.US domains are restricted. The central registry for .US requires registrants to fill out their "Intended Usage" and "Registrant Type" upon registration.

When it comes to entering your "Registrant Type," registrants of .US domain names must be either:

  • A natural person (i) who is a United States citizen, (ii) who is a permanent resident of the United States of America or any of its possessions or territories, or (iii) whose primary place of domicile is in the United States of America or any of its possessions.
  • A United States entity or organization that is (i) incorporated within one of the fifty (50) U.S. states, the District of Columbia, or any of the United States possessions or territories, or (ii) organized or otherwise constituted under the laws of a state of the United States of America, the District of Columbia or any of its possessions or territories (including a federal, state, or local government of the United States or a political subdivision thereof, and non-commercial organizations based in the United States).
  • A foreign entity or organization that has a bona fide presence in the United States of America or any of its possessions or territories.

Once you have entered these settings and successfully registered a .US domain, you will not be asked to fill them out with additional .US registrations. If you need to update your settings, you can change your .US Nexus settings from within your Dynadot account.

Please note that the .US central registry will delete .US domains that are in violation of their Nexus policies.



Share and Get $5

Learn about our easy-to-use referral program that provides nothing but value.

Still Require Assistance?

Check out our resources

Are you sure you want to close the chat?Chat will be closed and the chat history will be cleared.
Chat Online
Chat Online0