Are you sure you want to close the chat?Chat will be closed and the chat history will be cleared.
continue to sign out,
or stay on chat.
To review this chat session please click this windows.
Chat Online
Chat Online0
Support

Forum

A place for Dynadot and community experts alike to ask questions, share ideas, and more.
Setting up DNS for a noob
4/2/2015 06:08
Hi,

I'm completely new to setting up a domain name and DNS.  I have managed to get set it up so that if anyone types www.mydomain.com it forwards to where my website is hosted by using an A record and setting it up on the www domain.  However, how do I get the naked domain mydomain.com to also point towards where my website is hosted?  I searched the forums but was unable to follow the replies given.  Can someone please explain this in an easy to follow format?

Additionally, I'd like to set-up a subdomain for my tumblr along the lines of sub.mydomain.com.  Is this possible while also keeping the main addresses pointing towards my main website?

Thank you,

Al.
Reply Quote
4/2/2015 07:33
Huh, my naked domain is now forwarding to the www sub - was it just a case of waiting for changes to propagate?
Reply Quote
4/2/2015 23:43
Yes, it may take from five minutes up to a whole day to update. You may want to see more information from here:
https://www.dynadot.com/community/help/question/not-propagated-yet
Reply Quote
4/7/2015 07:54
Thank you for the confirmation - hadn't expected the www and naked domain to have taken different lengths of time to propogate.

In relation to setting a sub-domain for my tumblr - is that possible while keeping the www and naked domain pointed at my self-hosted wordpress blog?
Reply Quote
4/22/2015 06:08
Bumping this as still wanting to know whether its possible to point a sub-domain towards my tumblr whilst keeping the naked domain and www sub pointed at my self-hosted blog. Cheers.
Reply Quote
4/23/2015 07:08